Left Hand Valley Courier - All Local, All The Time

Articles written by Leigh Suskin & Kathy Trauner

Sorted by date  Results 1 - 4 of 4



The Story Behind the Name: Fire House Museum

With the Fourth of July fast approaching, it seems a fortuitous time to talk about the history of the Niwot firehouse. In 1910, concern about fire protection prompted Niwot citizens to acquire a...

 

The Story Behind the Name: Left Hand Grange

Not unlike other local businesses and attractions, Chief Niwot is the namesake for the Left Hand Grange as the Arapaho word for "left-hand" is Ni-wot. What is interesting about the building known as...

 

The Story Behind the Name: Murray Street

The plat of Niwot was filed in the Boulder County records on March 30,1875, by Porter T. Hinman and Ambrose S. Murray, laying out streets, alleys and lots on both sides of the railroad tracks, but...

 

The Story Behind the Name: Niwot Tribune

When The Wandering Jellyfish Bookshop moved into its downtown Niwot home last year, it breathed new life into one of Niwot's most iconic spaces. Owners Carissa Mina and Jerilyn Patterson brought...

 

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021