All Local, All The Time

Tigers take the trophy: Erie boys lacrosse postseason honors

The Erie High School boys lacrosse team capped an extraordinary season by clinching the state championship, an impressive milestone marking the program's first-ever state title. Led by Coach Nick Mandia, who was named the Class 4A Northern Coach of the Year, the team showcased its dominance, ending the season with a stellar 15-3 overall record and a perfect 5-0 conference record, finishing first in the 4A Northern League.

The Tigers' triumphant journey culminated in a commanding 14-6 victory over Northfield High School in the state championship. The Tigers' roster is composed of talented athletes from throughout the St. Vrain Valley School District, many of whom received notable postseason honors for their exceptional performances.

Senior Liam Connors, a team captain, was a driving force on the attack. His remarkable contributions earned him CHSAA Player of the Year, BoCoPreps Player of the Year, and USA Lacrosse All-American. Connors also secured spots on the CHSAA All-State First Team and All-Conference First Team, as well as being named the 4A Northern Co-Conference Player of the Year. His leadership and offensive skills were pivotal in Erie's championship run. Connors boasted 61 goals and 36 assists on the season, leading the team in both categories.

Charlie O'Brien, a senior, captain, and attacker, also had a standout season. O'Brien held 51 goals and 29 assists to his name for the season. His skills earned him a place on CHSAA's All-State First Team as well as All-Conference First Team honors.

Seniors Ashton Karch, a Niwot High School athlete and face-off specialist, and Hudsin DenHartog, a defender, were named to the All-State First Team, as well as the All-Conference First Team. Karch won 230 face-offs and had eight goals. DenHartog had 27 takeaways.

Junior Sam Beach, a captain and goalie, was also named to the All-Conference First Team. Beach had an impressive 135 saves and 74 goals against.

Senior Davis Mundy, an attacker, Junior Aiden Hill, a defender, and Sophomore Braylon Englehardt, a captain and defender, were named to the All-Conference First Team as well. Mundy took away 38 goals and 25 assists, Hill had 20 takeaways, and Englehardt had 34 takeaways.

Beach and Hill earned All-State Second Team honors, with Englehardt and Mundy earning All-State Honorable Mention.

Seniors Jase Curley, a goalie, and Aidan Quam, a midfielder, Niwot junior Marcus Vock, a midfielder, sophomore Ewan Pantier, a long stick middle, and freshmen Tyler Keating, a face-off specialist, and Drake Chivukula, a Niwot High athlete, midfielder, and attacker, were all named Second Team All-Conference.

Niwot junior Tyler Chivukula, a midfielder, earned Honorable Mention All-Conference.

The Tigers graduated Connors, O'Brien, Karch, DenHartog, Mundy, Curley, and Quam, as well as Seth Mendenhall, Sam Falk, and Mike Falk.


Reader Comments(0)