Left Hand Valley Courier - All Local, All The Time

Boulder Rural Fire Department Welcomes Chief Greg Schwab


January 10, 2019

Courtesy Photo

Boulder Rural Fire Department Welcomes Chief Greg Schwab

After a rigorous 5-month, nationwide search, Boulder Rural Fire Department announced that Chief Greg Schwab will serve as the district’s fire chief starting this month. Chief Schwab joined Boulder Rural Fire Department from the Georgetown, CA  Fire Protection District where he has served as fire chief since 2006. Prior to Georgetown, Schwab served as Chief of Fire and Emergency Services in Ketchum, ID. He has been serving in the fire service since 1989 where he started in Ohio.

A press release from the department stated, “Chief Schwab has a passion for the fire service: developing the craft and teams to excel at fire protection and emergency response. He demonstrates his passion through his service as the Program Coordinator for the International Society of Fire Service Instructors, is a member of the International Association of Chiefs, and serves on advisory committees for Fire Protection ROP and Fire Science Programs for the local Georgetown high school and college.”

Boulder Rural Fire District Board of Directors thanked all parties who participated in the selection process over the course of the past four months, with a special thanks to Chief Randy Callahan who served as interim chief since July. “Chief Callahan has guided the department as it prepares for a new chief and shared his wisdom through the selection process,” the press release stated. “The continuing support by BRFD community and neighbors is much appreciated as BRFD looks forward to Chief Schwab’s leadership for the department, as the second permanent fire chief hired by the district in its 62-year history.”

Former Chief Bruce Mygatt retired last January after serving for 20 years in that position. Mygatt was named the Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control's George Mazzotti Fire Chief of the Year. Mygatt, who has been a firefighter for 47 years, was presented with the award on Oct. 19, 2018,  "in honor of his positive contributions to leadership, innovation, professional development, integrity, service to the public and contributions to the Colorado fire service as a whole,” according to a press release.



Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019